Pharma Consulting

By 2020, China is expected to have surpassed the United States as the world's largest pharmaceutical market. While reform efforts, an aging population, the prevalence of chronic diseases and the expansion of the health care system significantly increase the market attractiveness for foreign companies, new market regulations pose major challenges for foreign pharmaceutical manufacturers. With its extensive experience in and in-depth knowledge of both Chinese and European healthcare systems, SILREAL consults pharmaceutical companies to enter new markets and expand their existing operations.

 

Opportunities of the Chinese Pharma Market

 

 

The rise of non communicable diseases

Growing prosperity and demographic changes as well as health policy reforms suggest that the outlook for the pharmaceutical industry continues to be favorable. Non communicable diseases such as cancer and diabetes have become more prevalent among China's population and its government is consequently attaching greater importance to healthcare. Companies providing innovative cancer drugs such as Merck & Co or AstraZeneca are therefore not surprisingly experiencing particularly rapid growth in China. Similarly, the alliance between Amgen and Beigene is focused on the development of cancer drugs. With over 4 million cases, China records more than twice as many cancer cases per year as the United States. The WHO estimates that this number will rise to about 6.7 million cases in the next two decades.

 

Healthy China 2030

In 2016, China adopted the "Healthy China 2030" strategy. Besides prevention and health education, the government aims to provide the Chinese population with drugs at an affordable price. To achieve this, it is implementing considerable tax discounts on medication and making more drugs reimbursable by the Chinese health insurance system. According to figures from the National Health Security Administration, 128 new drugs were added to the list of reimbursable drugs only in 2019.

 

Import of patent-protected drugs

The majority of drugs in China are imported, a large proportion of them from Germany. According to the German Association of Research-based Pharmaceutical Companies (VFA) the value of all pharmaceutical exports from Germany to China and India currently amounts to 4 billion euros and primarily includes patent-protected drugs. Conversely, German pharmaceutical companies mainly purchase basic pharmaceutical materials and generics from China.

 

Backlog in the Chinese supplier industry

Alongside the pharmaceutical industry, a supplier industry has developed in China since 1970 producing basic equipment for pharmaceutical companies. According to the China Association for Pharmaceutical Equipment, the majority of suppliers achieves an annual turnover of less than 2.5 million euros. In contrast, only some of the medium-sized German pharmaceutical equipment manufacturers achieve annual sales of more than 300 million euros. There are not only differences in size, but also in terms of technology. In the past, particularly smaller, local manufacturers in China manufactured copies without investing in their own R&D capabilities. The need for high tech products consequently increased the demand for products from European equipment manufacturers. Despite their technological strength, however, Chinese pharmaceutical companies also see shortcomings in Western suppliers. Local equipment suppliers stand out with faster and more efficient services and support than Western technology leaders.

 

Challenges of the Chinese Pharma Market

 

Changing healthcare landscape

For the pharmaceutical industry, China's strategic plans also pose new challenges for an entry or extension in its growing market. First, the market structure is likely to change significantly. In the past, it was mainly the mature, often off-patent drugs that made Western pharmaceutical companies successful in China. However, the attention is now shifting towards innovation. While it used to take years to launch a new product, nowadays only a few months lie between the initial approval of a drug in western countries and its registration in China.

 

Reforms and stricter approval procedures

Simultaneously, the Chinese government has also tightened the approval process for new drugs and has taken a stricter line on generic manufacturers in recent years. Several campaigns are aimed at improving the overall quality of production, reducing the prices of domestic drugs and strengthening China's reputation as the number one generics manufacturer. However, the high cost of the approval procedures has also led many companies to stop production, which has resulted in market consolidation.

 

Made in China 2025

Assuming everything goes according to the plans of the Chinese government, pharmaceutical companies must also be prepared for growing competition from China. The sector is one of ten key industries identified by the government in its "Made in China 2025" strategy which is aimed at promoting technological innovation and developing world-leading companies. For instance companies have become involved in the development of new biotech drugs. Additionally, over 100 clinical trials are currently underway at Chinese universities and companies in the area of innovative gene and cell therapies against cancer.

... is that these challenges can be overcome with a trusted partner by your side. SILREAL has vast experience in pharma consulting. One example is a delegation trip that SILREAL organized for the German Federal Ministry of Health, where German politicians could gain insights into state of the art technologies in the Chinese pharma industry.
SILREAL is deeply embedded in the Chinese and European pharma industry, can identify and communicate with the ideal partners for your current or future business pursuits, and ensure your business succeeds in the Chinese market.

 

The good news ...

 

Our Experience with Pharma Consulting

 

 

Go-to-market analysis

 

Performing a go-to-market analysis on behalf of the start up incubator arm of a leading global insurance company focusing on insurtech, health-tech and mobility .

 

Market Analysis

 

Analysis of an OTC drug for the treatment of mouth and throat infections on behalf of a German pharmaceutical company as well as the investigation of market access requirements.

© COPYRIGHT SILREAL ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Pharma Consulting

Es ist zu erwarten, dass China bis zum Jahr 2020 die Vereinigten Staaten als aktuell größten Pharmamarkt der Welt überholt haben wird. Während Reformbestrebungen, eine alternde Bevölkerung, die Verbreitung chronischer Krankheiten und der Ausbau des Gesundheitssystems die Marktattraktivität für ausländische Unternehmen in China deutlich erhöhen, stellen neue Marktregulierungen ausländische Pharmahersteller vor große Herausforderungen. Mit umfangreicher Erfahrung und fundierten Kenntnissen sowohl des chinesischen als auch des europäischen Gesundheitssystems unterstützt SILREAL Pharmaunternehmen bei der Erschließung neuer Märkte und der Ausweitung bestehender Aktivitäten.

Pharma consulting

Chancen des chinesischen Pharmamarktes

Wachsender Wohlstand und demografische Veränderungen sowie gesundheitspolitische Reformen in China lassen die Aussichten für die Pharmaindustrie weiterhin günstig erscheinen. Nicht übertragbare Krankheiten wie Krebs und Diabetes haben in der chinesischen Bevölkerung zugenommen, weshalb die Regierung der Gesundheitsversorgung eine größere Bedeutung zuschreibt. Es überrascht daher nicht, dass Unternehmen, die innovative Krebsmedikamente anbieten, wie z.B. Merck & Co oder AstraZeneca, in China ein besonders schnelles Wachstum verzeichnen. Auch die strategische Kollaboration zwischen Amgen und Beigene ist auf die Entwicklung von Krebsmedikamenten ausgerichtet. Mit über 4 Millionen Fällen verzeichnet China mehr als doppelt so viele Krebserkrankungen pro Jahr wie die USA. Die WHO schätzt, dass diese Zahl in den nächsten zwei Jahrzehnten auf etwa 6,7 Millionen Fälle ansteigen wird.

Im Jahr 2016 hat China die Strategie "Healthy China 2030" verabschiedet. Neben Präventions- und Aufklärungsmaßnahmen möchte die Regierung die chinesische Bevölkerung mit Medikamenten zu einem erschwinglichen Preis versorgen. Um dies zu erreichen, führt sie erhebliche Steuerrabatte auf Medikamente ein und macht mehr Medikamente durch das chinesische Krankenversicherungssystem erstattungsfähig. Nach Angaben der Nationalen Gesundheitssicherheitsbehörde wurden allein im Jahr 2019 128 neue Medikamente in die Liste der erstattungsfähigen Medikamente aufgenommen.

Der Großteil der Medikamente in China wird importiert, ein großer Teil davon aus Deutschland. Laut dem Verband Forschender Arzneimittelhersteller (VFA) beläuft sich der Wert aller pharmazeutischen Exporte aus Deutschland nach China und Indien derzeit auf 4 Milliarden Euro und umfasst vor allem patentgeschützte Arzneimittel. Umgekehrt beziehen deutsche Pharmaunternehmen vor allem pharmazeutische Grundstoffe und Generika aus China.

Neben der pharmazeutischen Industrie hat sich in China seit 1970 eine Zulieferindustrie entwickelt, die Grundausstattungen für Pharmaunternehmen herstellt. Nach Angaben der China Association for Pharmaceutical Equipment erzielt die Mehrzahl der Zulieferer einen Jahresumsatz von weniger als 2,5 Mio. Euro. Im Gegensatz dazu erzielen nur einige der mittelständischen deutschen Pharmaausrüster einen Jahresumsatz von mehr als 300 Mio. Euro. Unterschiede gibt es besonders in der Technologie. In der Vergangenheit haben vor allem kleinere, lokale Hersteller in China Kopien hergestellt, ohne in eigene F&E-Kapazitäten zu investieren. Der Bedarf an Hightech-Produkten erhöhte folglich die Nachfrage nach Produkten europäischer Gerätehersteller. Trotz ihrer technologischen Stärke sehen chinesische Pharmaunternehmen aber auch Defizite bei westlichen Anbietern. Lokale Ausrüster zeichnen sich durch schnelleren und effizienteren Service und Support aus als westliche Technologieführer.

Herausforderungen des chinesischen Pharmamarktes

Für die pharmazeutische Industrie stellen die strategischen Pläne Chinas auch neue Herausforderungen für einen Einstieg oder eine Erweiterung in diesem wachsenden Markt dar. Voraussichtlich wird sich die Marktstruktur deutlich verändern. In der Vergangenheit waren es vor allem die ausgereiften, oft patentfreien Medikamente, die westliche Pharmaunternehmen in China erfolgreich machten. Nun aber verlagert sich das Augenmerk auf Innovationen. Während es früher Jahre dauerte, ein neues Produkt auf den Markt zu bringen, liegen heute nur noch wenige Monate zwischen der Erstzulassung eines Medikaments in westlichen Ländern und seiner Registrierung in China.

Gleichzeitig hat die chinesische Regierung in den letzten Jahren auch die Zulassungsverfahren für neue Medikamente verschärft und geht nun strenger gegen Hersteller von Generika vor. Mehrere Kampagnen zielen darauf ab, die Qualität der Produktion insgesamt zu verbessern, die Preise für inländische Medikamente zu senken und Chinas Ruf als führender Generikahersteller zu stärken. Allerdings haben die hohen Kosten der Zulassungsverfahren auch dazu geführt, dass viele Unternehmen die Produktion eingestellt haben, was zu einer Marktkonsolidierung geführt hat.

Wenn alles nach den Plänen der chinesischen Regierung läuft, müssen sich auch Pharmaunternehmen auf eine wachsende Konkurrenz aus China einstellen. Die Branche ist eine von zehn Schlüsselindustrien, die die Regierung in ihrer Strategie "Made in China 2025" identifiziert hat, die darauf abzielt, technologische Innovationen zu fördern und weltweit führende Unternehmen zu entwickeln. So haben sich Unternehmen an der Entwicklung neuer Biotech-Medikamente beteiligt. Zudem laufen derzeit über 100 klinische Studien an chinesischen Universitäten und Unternehmen im Bereich innovativer Gen- und Zelltherapien gegen Krebs.

... istdass diese Herausforderungen mit einem vertrauensvollen Partner an Ihrer Seite gemeistert werden können. SILREAL hat zahlreiche Erfahrungen in der Pharmaberatung sammeln können. Ein Beispiel ist eine Delegationsreise, die SILREAL für das Bundesgesundheitsministerium organisierte, bei der deutsche Politiker Einblicke in den neuesten Stand der Technik in der chinesischen Pharmaindustrie gewinnen konnten.

SILREAL hat einen tiefen Einblick in die chinesische und europäische Pharmaindustrie und kann ideale Partner für Ihr aktuelles oder zukünftiges Geschäft identifizieren.  Wir sichern dadurch den Erfolg Ihres Unternehmens auf dem chinesischen Gesundheitsmarkt.

Die gute Nachricht…

Unsere Erfahrung im Pharma Consulting

 

HealthTech-Consulting

Durchführung einer Go-to-Market-Analyse im Auftrag des Start-Up-Inkubators eines führenden globalen Versicherungsunternehmens mit Fokus auf Insurtech, Healthtech und Mobility.

 

Markt Analyse

Analyse eines OTC-Medikaments zur Behandlung von Mund- und Racheninfektionen im Auftrag eines deutschen Pharmaunternehmens​ sowie die Untersuchung der Marktzugangsvoraussetzungen.