Image by Louis Reed

Biopharma

Challenges in the Pharma industry

The global pharmaceutical industry is facing major challenges, ranging from increasing competition, new legislation, complex market access and pricing frameworks, to digital transformation, expiring patents and rising research and development costs. In addition, the pharmaceutical industry is experiencing high levels of regional variation, which makes the task of facing these new challenges even more daunting.  

China is the world's second largest pharmaceutical market, and its monumental growth isn’t stopping any time soon. The pharmaceutical industry is one of ten key industries identified by the government in its "Made in China 2025" strategy. The Chinese market has been characterized by stricter approval procedures and regulatory changes in recent years. The strong focus on innovative medicines, fast-moving approval processes and increasing Chinese competition poses a challenge for Western pharmaceutical companies.  

The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted the importance of a crisis-proof system in which we can ensure the availability of medicines under all circumstances. Digitalization and innovation are drivers for the establishment and development of new drugs. The European pharmaceutical market faces challenges in this regard. In addition, Europe is seeing an ageing population, a dependence on importing medicines from third countries, high cost pressure for new registrations, and regional variation in the selection of marketing strategies.  

Overcoming the challenges

To meet these challenges adequately, pharmaceutical companies need to understand the market and patients’ needs holistically. The dynamic market environment, especially in the Chinese market, requires increased tactical and strategic expertise. The complex regulatory environment and non-transparent market structures in China make market entry and expansion of the competitive position difficult.  

Why SILREAL

Entering and expanding your business in the pharma market in China or Europe can be highly complicated and challenging. On the one hand, the big global players have entered and taken a sizeable share of the market and leave limited room for new entrées. On the other hand, government values more and more the competitiveness and development of local companies and limits the role of international companies by policies such as the Chinese Volume-based Procurement. With the research and analysis conducted by our local team in China and Germany we offer our client a strategic planning with the first-hand information and understanding of the latest regulatory and policies, in order to realize a long-term and continuous business prospect. 

With extensive experience and profound knowledge of the Chinese as well as the European healthcare market, SILREAL GmbH helps pharmaceutical companies exploit previously untapped potential and establish themselves on the market successfully and sustainably. By cooperating and consulting with various private and public companies, such as the German Federal Ministry of Health and the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Associations (EFPIA), we have gained sufficient experience to help and assist you to achieve your success. 

Our Services

Conducting market research

Before any business activity, detailed market research is an important factor to obtain relevant information about the market and the immediate environment of a company. SILREAL conducts comprehensive market research activities ...

M&A Support
 

Mergers and acquisitions (M&A) are an important form of corporate expansion and therefore require extensive research into the market environment, the target company and an evaluation of the transaction. SILREAL supports your M&A transaction ...

Conception of strategies

Detailed strategies are the basis for the realization of long-term goals and the success of any business.

SILREAL supports clients in understanding economic policy as well as in developing corporate strategies ...

Marketing strategy support

Marketing plays an important role in helping companies create value for their target market and communicate it accordingly.

SILREAL helps identify and define an effective marketing approach that ...

Implementation of strategies

The concrete realization and project implementation is usually associated with significant organizational changes. With regard to the multitude of challenges in the implementation of new projects and corporate strategies, SILREAL supports ...

Case Studies

A German family-run pharmaceutical company

Project:

Market Access Analysis of an OTC including evaluation of approval modalities

Target Market:

China

Image by pina messina

A Swiss pharmaceutical company

Project:

Digital Health Pitch China Analysis of the Chinese digital health market and conception of market entry strategies

Target Market:

China

Ear Exam

A leading global hearing aid manufacturer

Project:

Market positioning and commercial due diligence

Target Market:

China

Other target groups

Image by Louis Reed

Biopharma Beratung

Herausforderungen der Pharma-industrie

Die globale Pharmaindustrie steht vor großen Herausforderungen wie steigendem Wettbewerbsdruck, neue Gesetzgebungen und komplexe Market Access und Pricing Rahmenbedingungen, digitaler Wandel, auslaufenden Patente und steigende Forschungs- und Entwicklungskosten. Zusätzlich ist die Pharmaindustrie von regionalen Unterschieden geprägt. 

 

China ist der zweitgrößte Pharmamarkt der Welt und ein Wachstumsmotor. Die Pharmabranche ist eine von zehn Schlüsselindustrien, die die Regierung in ihrer Strategie "Made in China 2025" identifiziert hat. Der chinesische Markt war in den letzten Jahren geprägt von schärferen Zulassungsverfahren und regulatorischen Änderungen. Der starke Fokus auf innovative Arzneimittel, schnelllebige Zulassungsverfahren und zunehmende chinesische Konkurrenz bergen Herausforderungen für westliche Pharma-unternehmen. 

 

Die COVID‑19-Pandemie hat mit Nachdruck gezeigt, wie essentiell es ist, ein krisenfestes System einzurichten und die Verfügbarkeit von Arzneimitteln unter allen Umständen zu gewährleisten. Digitalisierung und Innovation sind Treiber für die Etablierung und Entwicklung neuer Arzneimittel. Der europäische Pharmamarkt steht diesbezüglich vor Herausforderungen. Hinzu kommt eine alternde Bevölkerung, Abhängigkeit des Importes von Arzneimitteln aus Drittländern, Kostendruck bei Neuzulassungen und regionale Besonderheiten bei der Auswahl von Marketing-Strategien. 

Bewältigung der Herausforderungen

Um diesen Herausforderungen adäquat begegnen zu können, müssen Pharmaunternehmen den Markt, sowie Patientenbedürfnisse ganzheitlich verstehen. Das dynamische Marktumfeld, insbesondere im Chinesischen Markt, erfordert erhöhte taktische und strategische Kompetenz. Das komplexe regulatorische Umfeld, sowie intransparente Marktstrukturen in China erschweren den Markteintritt und Ausbau der Wettbewerbsposition. 

Warum SILREAL

Der Einstieg in den chinesischen wie auch europäischen Pharmamarkt sowie die Ausweitung der eigenen Geschäftstätigkeiten kann sehr herausfordernd sein. So haben Globale Player bereits erhebliche Marktanteile und lassen daher nur wenig Raum für neue Marktteilnehmer. Darüber hinaus legt die Regierungen vermehrt Wert auf die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und die Entwicklung lokaler Unternehmen und schränkt die Rolle internationaler Unternehmen durch Maßnahmen wie das chinesische volumenbasierte Beschaffungswesen gezielt ein.

 

Mit den Recherchen und Analysen, die unser lokales Team in China und Deutschland durchführt, bieten wir unseren Kunden eine strategische Planung und Verständnis für die neuesten Vorschriften und Richtlinien, um eine langfristige und kontinuierliche Geschäftsperspektive zu realisieren. 

Mit umfassender Erfahrung und fundierten Kenntnissen im chinesischen und europäischen Gesundheitsmarkt, unterstützt SILREAL Pharmaunternehmen bisher ungenutzte Potentiale auszuschöpfen und sich auf dem Markt nachhaltig und erfolgreich zu etablieren. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen privaten und öffentlichen Unternehmen, wie z.B. dem Bundesministerium für Gesundheit und der European Federation of Pharmaceutical Associations (EFPIA), hat SILREAL die notwenige Erfahrung gesammelt, um Sie auf Ihrem Weg zum Erfolg zu unterstützen.

Unsere Dienstleistungen

consulting services

​Durchführung von Marktrecherchen

Vor jeder geschäftlichen Aktivität ist eine detaillierte Marktforschung ein wichtiger Faktor, um relevante Informationen über den Markt und das unmittelbare Umfeld eines Unternehmens zu erhalten. SILREAL führt umfassende Marktforschungs-aktivitäten durch ...

consulting services

M&A Unterstützung
 

Fusionen und Übernahmen (M&A) sind eine wichtige Form der Unternehmensexpansion und erfordern daher umfangreiche Untersuchungen des Marktumfelds, des Zielunternehmens sowie eine Bewertung der Transaktion.

SILREAL unterstützt Ihre M&A-Transaktion ...

consulting services

Konzeption von Strategien

Detaillierte Strategien sind die Grundlage für die Realisierung langfristiger Ziele und den Erfolg eines jeden Unternehmens.

SILREAL unterstützt Kunden beim Verständnis der Wirtschaftspolitik sowie bei der Entwicklung von Unternehmens-strategien ...

consulting services

Unterstützung bei Marketingstrategien

Marketing spielt eine wichtige Rolle, wenn es darum geht, Unternehmen dabei zu unterstützen, einen Mehrwert für ihren Zielmarkt zu schaffen und entsprechend zu kommunizieren.

SILREAL hilft bei der Ermittlung und Definition eines effektiven Marketingansatzes, der ...

consulting services

Implementierung von Strategien

Die konkrete  Umsetzung und Projektimplementierung ist in der Regel mit erheblichen organisatorischen Veränderungen verbunden. Mit Hinblick auf die Vielzahl von Herausforderungen bei der Implementierung neuer Projekte und Unternehmensstrategien unterstützt SILREAL ...

Fallstudien

Pharma consulting

Ein familiengeführtes Pharmaunternehmen

Projekt:

Marktzugangsanalyse eines OTC-Produkts einschließlich der Bewertung der Zulassungsmodalitäten

Zielmarkt:

China

Pharma consulting

Ein Schweizer Pharma-unternehmen

Projekt:

Digital Health Pitch China: Analyse des chinesischen digitalen Gesundheits-marktes und Konzeption von Markteintrittsstrategien

Zielmarkt:

China

Pharma consulting

Global führender Hörgerätehersteller

Project:

Marktpositionierung und Commercial Due-Dilligence

Zielmarkt:

China

Weitere Zielgruppen